A little work: a little reward

The other night after dinner there was a lull in all the action at our house. With two teenagers that is a moment as rare as a blue moon. In all honesty I didn’t know what to do with myself so I took my camera outside with the intention of finding something, some new way of looking at things that would  revel something fascinating. If I looked at a world that I have looked at through so many other filters, through the eyes of a camera, what would I see?

I have looked at this yard through the eyes of a mower, at this house through the eyes of a painter, at the garden through the eyes of watering can. But seldom through the lens of my Nikon. Other than a mass of mosquito bites, here is the brief result.

DSC_1662

Badminton net.

DSC_1663

Adirondack chair.

DSC_1668

Lightening bug just before takeoff.

DSC_1669

Same bug at takeoff.

DSC_1673

Not sure how this picture showed up…it was just there when I downloaded the shots…those sneaky gnomes.

DSC_1677

Another lighting bug just before flight.

DSC_1732

Same bug in flight. This became fairly fascinating and difficult to capture on with its tail lights on.

DSC_1665

Shasta Daisies that evening.

DSCF1110

Same flowers the next morning.

I have often found that it takes some effort to get the snowball rolling but once it does, the effort to initiate is forgotten. The hassle of loading kayaks on a car, the hassle of washing a bike, the effort to a hand-made cake, sitting still long enough to read a book like Last of the Mohicans. Peeling back the layers revels the real fruit.

Leave a Reply

