Goldie-Locks at the Alamo

I have just returned from a trip to San Antonio, Texas. Suspect of a growing geographic homogenization that is creeping across the country, I didn’t expect to experience much regional influence. Wrong.

This wasn’t my first trip to Texas, it but has been at least 15 years. The itinerary while there was jam packed and didn’t allow for much exploring or entrenchment into historic Texas culture. But I managed a few quiet, late night walks where I was able to study bronze placards and envision a time not long ago when this area was truly the wild west frontier.

I engaged in a conversation with an elderly man who was the proud proprietor of a western-wear shop. He explained to me the history of quality beaver felt hats, and much to my surprise convinced me that I didn’t need another one for my collection… I just need to wear the ones I have a little more often. I strolled the halls of a hotel that once served as the meeting grounds for Teddy Roosevelt’s “Rough Riders”. And of course the Alamo, with a story of bravery and adherence to a belief… and so pivotable to the outcome of our southern states.

at-night.jpg

(The Alamo Mission: home of “The Fight At The Alamo”)

line.jpg

(…”those willing to die defending freedom, cross this line”…)

It was a rapid, exhausting trip that has been deemed a success. We were there to host a meeting for our ORG product dealers. Due to a comical series of events, I had the opportunity to spend each night in a different hotel. Although I have dozens of thoughts linked to this excursion, one of the most powerful is the keen awareness that how a space is designed, decorated, maintained and presented strongly influences the life and experience of its occupants.

One evening I was living the life of luxury in a Hyatt, and the next in what I call “A night at the Munster’s”. And yet another, in a “National Historic Hotel” called the Menger, which left me feeling right at home. It may be revealing too much about myself, but I felt like “Goldie-Locks” trying out furnishings and finally finding a bed that was “just right”.

This, combined with constant packing, unpacking and organizing my things, kept me occupied with seeking efficiency and capturing memorable outcomes and details. (What about this can I replicate? If only there was another hook right here for a towel… they should put an outlet right here… this coffee maker is exactly where I would expect it to be… someone shut that barking dog up… it’s 2:43 A.M., etc.)

The intensity was all encompassing. I met some fantastic people who shared with me several personal and business experiences.

Now that it’s over and I am home again, I can reflect. I am once again surrounded by the things that are “me”. Seldom have the flannel sheets felt so right, the shower temp so perfect. The sound of the kids chattering as they drift off to sleep so soothing. It might not be as infamous as the Alamo, occupied by it’s 187 defenders, but it’s a home full of memories.

2 thoughts on “Goldie-Locks at the Alamo

  1. Dear Goldie-Locks,

    What about grab bars and high toilet seats for the variously abled? Rocker switches? Easily reachable lamp switches, closet shelf (hats etc), walk space, muted air conditioning sounds? Do the rooms smell fresh? Do windows open? How about the free-standing toilet roll holder, so you can set it where you want it?

    Peace to you while you process your business trip.

Leave a Reply

