Entrenched In Trust

trust-light.jpg

A reoccurring thought returned this week. It happened as I was headed to the office after a lunch consumed by a fruitless search for sale Patagonia outerwear. As I drifted into a left turn lane, all the traffic headed in the opposing direction became very apparent threats. It occurred to me that the whole act of driving is dependent on a high level of trust. I trusted that no one would challenge my temporary claim on the middle lane. As I sat there with the turn signal blinking in perfect cadence, I thought about the eminent amount of trust there is, not only in driving but in every single aspect of our existence.

I trust that all those I share the road with, regardless of their background, age or health, are safe drivers. I trust that my Jetta will accelerate and get me out of harms way when I step on the accelerator.

I trust that my furnace will turn on in the morning and if not, the repair man will know how to fix it. I trust that the check I wrote to the utility company cleared the bank, and when I flip the switch a light will turn on. As a collective whole, we trust our dollar is worth something, that the country is safe, that the sun will come up. By reading this blog post, you trust that it will be worth it (thank you).

As homeowners, we trust that people we work with to help us with additions, decorating and floor sanding, know their business and are the best we can afford. Interestingly enough, our trust in a person may override fiscal limitations “I know they are expensive but I really trust that they know their stuff”. Those of you that are service providers understand that if we are called upon to provide input for people, they are trusting us to be the expert… how’s that for some responsibility? If you’re a snow plow driver hired to clear driveways, you’re entrusted to not shave the turf as you pile the snow beside the garage. If you’re a professional organizer, your entrusted to understand how the variety of lifestyles and life stages impact a day to day existence.

There are endless examples of how trust permeates every moment of our lives. Where would we be without it? My hope is that a realization of this will pull us closer together. Knowing a trust is there somehow defines common ground. And on those grounds, the foundation for a lot of good things can be built.

2 thoughts on “Entrenched In Trust

  1. I trust the bus driver with my life. When we dwell on the things that can go wrong, we just distress ourselves. Your post brings attention to the role of people more than that of fate or random chance. We suffer when unknown others don’t do their work well, and we benefit when they do. That applies to us, too. Sometimes we just have to trust that what we do or don’t do has an effect, although we rarely see it.

  2. I love this post. There are many things required to build a relationship. Without trust, the relationship is nothing. I feel the world is becoming a place where integrity is growing in value. And trust goes along with it. I love what I see and feel of the people around me, strangers too.

    It’s all good!

Leave a Reply

