Her 2 Cents Worth

At lunch today I resisted drinking the medicine from my last post. I was short on time but needed to eat. I ended up reconciling this internal battle by doing fast food, but not the drive thru.

I waited patiently in line as I contemplated which facsimile of a “taco” would carry me through the day. After ordering, I was informed my total was $4.02… but I didn’t have the “2” which would result in a pile of change making itself vocal in my pocket for the rest of the day.

Then… a complete stranger, in line behind me said “I got the 2… you don’t need all the change bugging you,” and proceeded to give the casher twin pennies.

When I thanked her, she said “my pleasure… just pass it on”. I found the timing of this experience uncanny… so I thought I would share it with you as evidence that if you want the view, you gotta make the climb.

3 thoughts on “Her 2 Cents Worth

  1. I welcome the change, because I need quarters for the laundry machines!

    Yes, random kindness is very impressive. People are sometimes suspicious, sometimes very moved when I notice their need, and sometimes I react in those ways, too.

    Isn’t it great when we can almost take it for granted? When people just treat each other as they would like to be treated? When a stranger is simply a relative we haven’t met yet?

  2. Truthfully, I don’t mind the change ether… money is money… and my kids are collecting the commemorative quarters. But I wanted this lady to understand how much I appreciated her jester.

    Random acts of kindness are truly a gift.

  3. Pingback: Exercise Machines and Routines

Leave a Reply

